Hear My [Black] Heart

My heart is to see the world come together! If you know me, you know I am not a negative person. I believe in the teachings of Jesus. I believe the Bible to be 100% truth! I can’t lie and say that it’s not a struggle to be a black Christ follower in America. I know some of you read that and thought, “why does he have to bring color in to it? Why can’t he just be a Christian?” Unfortunately, that isn’t how the world sees me. 
I’ve been genuinely shocked by the amount of Christians who are uncomfortable talking about issues of race. ‘We are all created equal under God’ seems to be a repetitive tone in the Bible ,but it is missed(ignored) by so many. I have been approached by Christians who tell me I shouldn’t talk about certain topics. That how I am saying things is too harsh. I get praise from people of color but also I come off as unrealistic when I say things like “my hope is in Him”—and if I’m honest I feel torn.  
I feel like the world is making me choose between being black or being a “Christian” (in the sense of religious standards and guidelines we have in the American church). If I speak out on the problems that go against the church than I’m viewed as an enemy. Why? Because it’s uncomfortable? Why do we (the church) feel like we can talk about certain aspects of the Bible, but block out the rest? We remember the commandments, the do’s and don’ts of our faith, but we somehow leave out the most important commandment anytime it’s tough—love. It goes out the window when something happens that we don’t agree with. When the first reaction from people is to justify the killings of People of Color instead of praying for the families, that’s not love. How can we truly love someone if we aren’t willing to learn from them? To speak their language? To get into their worlds? 

As I scroll through my timelines I can’t help but to wonder, if my name became a hashtag would these people do the same? If my son was out being a kid and something happened to him would they blame it on him? I’ve had white people close to me not care because they think it could never happen to me (because they see me as ‘different’ or ‘not like other black people’). When they see the mistreatment, the killing, the injustice towards people of color it doesn’t phase them, because it’s only a stranger, and it’s not a reality that affects them. Me, I see my father, my brother, my uncle. I see a friend. I see my sister. I see ME! It breaks my heart to see Christians dig up a criminal past when we have been forgiven. To see the Bible being used like Chex mix instead of in it’s entirety. How can we grow if we don’t confront our issues? Especially if the goal is to win people over. How can we do that while pushing people away? We need to stand with arms open wide! Say “I may not understand why you are hurt, but I see that you are hurt and I am here for you!” No matter what race, religion, political stance, sexual background, etc! We have to be willing to love our neighbor, even when it hurts.

Why am I writing this? I want people to know who I am. I am not divisive. I’m not a hateful person. I’m not confrontational. I love the church. I want solidarity. I want a better world for my son!

I am also writing this because over the past couple months I have been asked if I’m ok. People call and check up on me because of my posts about racial injustice. The truth is, I’m caught in the middle. I’m hurting. I’m confused. Worried. Disappointed. But, I still have hope. I still feel love for those that don’t understand. I still believe in the promises of Jesus. I guess you can say I’m on the corner of conviction and compassion, which is exactly where I want to be. 

Thank you for your time. Let’s connect!!

Don’t forget to share!!!

Twitter: @iamwillmaxwell

2 thoughts on “Hear My [Black] Heart”

  1. William, I understand exactly how you feel. I, too, am caught in the middle. Keep your head up and stand your ground. #Godsgotchu

    Like

Leave a Reply

